Skip to content

April You Were Awesome!

May 6, 2010

Because of my lack of ideas for a specific thing to blog about, I shall list the top things that made my April 2010 a fun month and why I think that it should’ve lasted longer. After all, it’s still summer and it ain’t over till it’s over.

Read: How It Ends by Laura Wiess
(The photo and book summary are both from the author’s website )

All All Hanna’s wanted since sophomore year is Seth. She’s gone out with other guys, even gained a rep for being a flirt, all the while hoping cool, guitar-playing Seth will choose her. Then she gets him – but their relationship is hurtful, stormy and critical, not at all what she thinks a perfect love should be. Hanna decides to fulfill her school’s community service requirement by spending time with Helen, her terminally ill neighbor, who she’s turned to for comfort and wisdom throughout her life. But illness has changed Helen into someone Hanna hardly knows, and her home is not the refuge it once was. Feeling more alone than ever, she gets drawn into an audio book the older woman is listening to, a fierce, unsettling love story of passion, sacrifice and devotion. Hanna’s fascinated by the idea that such all-encompassing love can truly exist, and without even realizing it, the story begins to change her. Until the day when the story becomes all too real…and Hanna’s world is spun off its axis by its shattering irrevocable conclusion.

Watched: Baccano!
(Photo source: Ludicer )

Okay, I know that I’ve already blogged about this anime before. But if you’ve already watched at least more than two episodes, can you honestly blame me? No? Yeah, didn’t think so. Anyway, I really love how this anime combines different characters with way-different personalities and blend them all well with the story. Although most of the characters are Camorra and Mafia dudes, criminals (some have kind hearts though) ,and power-hungry immortals, they all share compassion and love for their family and friends. Well, most of them, anyway.  I’m currently watching the final episode and I’m excited to see how it all ends.



Listened to: Glee Season Two Songs
(photo from Google Images)
I’ve been a Gleek for quite some time now and like most Gleeks, I was really psyched to watch the premier of the second season two and, of course, listen to more of their awesome covers of timeless hits. I especially love the pregnant ex-Cheerios captain Quinn Fabray, flamoyant fashionista Kurt Hummel, Whitney Houston-voiced outspoken Mercedes Jones, and hot former campus king Finn Hudson. My favorite cover songs for this season so far is Gives You Hell, Highway to Hell, Hello Goodbye, 4 Minutes, Like A Virgin, A House Is Not A Home, and Beautiful. I’m sure there are more covers to come that I’ll like.


Played: Guitar && Drums
(Photos from Google Images)

A summer tradition I’ve been doing since I was ten is this: learning to play musical instruments. I’ve been attending the same music school (MSM) since I was eleven. I’ve been playing the guitar for, like, four years now and this summer, I also decided on learning to play the drums, out of curiosity and boredom. Turns out that it was a good idea after all. I’m having a good time so far. My dad is planning to buy us an electric drum set, or so he said. And I’m on the advanced level on my guitar course now. I guess fourth year’s the charm, huh? Anyhoo, I can’t wait for our recital. I’m also a bit sad since this might be my last year in MSM since I might be taking review classes for college entrance exams next summer. Oh well.


Surfed: Style Blogs
I know that sometimes, this kind of blogs may not be good for your money because of the fact that they sometimes temp you to spend on trendy clothes or simply because of the fact that they can be intimidating. Well, I don’t care. I mean, I really like checking out the latest trends worn by normal girls who are not celebrities styled by a professional stylist or whatever. It just proves that it’s better to be independent and have your own sense of style than relying on other people to manage your wardrobe. My current top fave awesome style bloggers are Jane Aldridge, Tavi Gevinson, Rumi Neely, fellow Filipino Patricia Prieto, and Tieka because of their great taste and the way the carry their outfits is super model-confident. 
***How about you? How was your April? ***

xoxo




No comments yet

Leave a Reply

