Skip to content

Letter To Myself Three Years Later

June 8, 2010

Dear Future Marcy,

Hey there, it’s me, your fourteen-and-a-half-year-old self! Happy eighteenth birthday, by the way. So wow, you’re now officially a woman. And I’m guessing that your debut party theme is “Greecian Deities”, no? Or perhaps “Oscar Awards Night”? Or maybe an “All-Purple Party”? Or maybe something else, who knows but you. Anyway, happy eighteenth birthday. Oh wait, I already said that, didn’t I? Crap, sorry. But anyway, I’m really really really proud of you. I’m guessing that you’re now a college sophomore at Ateneo de Manila University? Ehmuhgawd, I really hope so. If only you knew how much questions I’m dying to ask you right now. Like if you graduated high school with honors, if you managed to win at the National Schools’ Press Conference before you graduated high school, if you managed to pass your entrance exams at ADMU, if you became editor-in-chief of the school paper, if you became part of the Dance Troupe’s Assistance Committee, if you won either Prom Queen or Princess during prom, if you…..okay okay, I’ll stop pestering you with such questions. I know you’re probably busy either studying or planning your supposed-to-be-perfect debut or something like that. I’m writing this letter on the last day of summer 2010, the day before you officially become a high school junior. At this very moment, you are both excited and anxious about what’s going to happen next. You are trying to be chillax about it, but because of the many things that happened during your freshman and sophomore year, you just can’t blame yourself for being even just a little bit worried. I’m not certain about how you’ll react when you read this letter. I’m not also certain about how much you’ve changed through the years. Hopefully you’ve changed in a good way. Okay, I don’t have much to say to you anymore. Again, happy eighteenth birthday. I’m proud of you, wherever you are right there. Till here for now.

Xoxo,
Marcy From The Year 2010
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

