Skip to content

Spell F-O-O-D

November 16, 2010

Okay, so this is, like, my first-ever blog entry about food. If you’re asking why, it’s probably because of the fact that I have no idea how to cook anything aside from rice, instant noodles, eggs, and the occasional pancakes (well, technically, for that last one, I just assist my mom whenever she makes them for breakfast). So yeah, you could say that I’m a teenage girl with very limited knowledge in culinary arts. I may be A TOTAL FOODIE (which makes dieting and losing weight very very very hard), but when it comes to making food instead of just eating them, I’m totally lost. Believe me, I wish I could learn to whip up even just the basics like hotdogs, bacons, and maybe even soup dishes (the canned ones don’t count, okay?) before I graduate high school and go off to college. But, oh well, I guess I’d have to find some time to learn, hopefully during Christmas vacation while helping my mom whip up some of her recipes for Noche Buena in December, which is what we Filipinos call the traditional after-dinner Christmas Eve meal. But anyway…

                Today was actually a national non-working holiday in the Philippines, because it’s the end of Ramadan season for the Muslims, so it means no classes for us. Which, of course, totally delights us high schoolers so much. So this morning, because my breakfast just wasn’t satiating enough (or maybe it’s just my foodie side taking over my appetite again), I decided to make myself some sandwich, as you can see from the photo below.


The so-called recipe for this sandwich is so so so easy, and kinda amateur-ish, I’ll admit. All you need are two loaves of bread (whether it’s white, wheat, or a bagel cut in half, it doesn’t really matter much), some Nutella hazelnut spread, and sliced banana pieces (preferably thin slices).  See? Anyone with a brain and a knife (for spreading and slicing purposes, don’t get me wrong) can totally do this. 
               So when I took my first bite out of this, I was like, “Oh my gawsh, I can actually have a future as a recipe-inventor!”, but then again, maybe it’s just my adventurous side with food taking over. Or maybe it’s just the fact that I’ve been addicted to Nutella forever and I wanted something to spice up my Nutella sandwich since I was bored with the usual Nutella + bread combo. But, oh well. Hey, I can dream, can’t I? Alright, I seriously need to ask my mom for cooking lessons as soon as Christmas vacation comes. But for now…

`Till my next blog post, (hopefully, another one about food?)
xoxo      
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

