Skip to content

The Two Zero One Three List

January 4, 2013

IMG_2311

(photo taken during a  high school friend’s debut + New Year’s Eve Eve party)

It is hard to deny the fact that New Year’s resolutions, bucket lists, and to-do-before-the-year-ends lists have gotten mainstream now. I’m no hipster — heck, my semi-hipster friends say that I’m one of the most pro-mainstream people they know — but I do enjoy doing things that are pretty unusual in such a way that people wouldn’t normally do it. And because what I am about to start writing is a mix of those three types of lists that I have mentioned, I shall simply refer to this as Marcy’s 2013 List.

1. Learn the Fine Art of Proper Time Management 

Because more often than not, this has gotten me into a lot of tight spots all throughout the previous year. And the fact that the saying “old habits die hard” is more than true makes this resolution the most challenging of them all, which is why I put it on the top spot. So yeah, bring it on 2013, bring it on.

2. Live Healthier

This includes exercising more often, being mindful of what I eat, and fixing my sleeping schedule. For a lazy couch potato like me, this surely won’t be easy, but I’m willing to give it my all this year.

3. Have an Awesome Debutante Birthday

I plan on celebrating the day when I finally turn 18 by throwing a dinner party in a ritzy venue. It doesn’t really have to be a huge party, but I do plan on inviting some of my relatives,  and both my high school and college friends.

4. Reconnect With My Hobbies and Passion

Due to my busy fast-paced college life, I haven’t been able to write/read/blog/etc as often as I used to. And no, writing tedious papers and updating our group blog for Literature class don’t count. Writing this entry is, in fact, my way of reconnecting.

5. Go Further Out of My Comfort Zone 

Because of the fact that I graduated high school and started college in 2012, I’ve most certainly done more new adventurous things than I ever did before. Yet, to be honest, I was usually reluctant about trying those new things, although I probably never showed it. So this year, I shall continue trying more new things with less reluctance (disclaimer: less reluctance doesn’t necessarily mean less caution, okay?).

6. Join My Ideal Org

When you go to a university that has, like, a hundred organizations catering to students’ different interests, it is quite hard to choose that one or two org where you’ll be most active at. Although I did join a few orgs this school year, I can’t exactly say I’m planning to be active in those in the near future. So once sophomore year comes, I want to get into this certain org (I’m not telling what for now) and do my best to be an active member, now that I can say I’m no longer the freshman who got kinda overwhelmed/confused/fazed during her first RecWeek.

7. Treat My Self-Esteem With More Kindness 

I think this is completely self-explanatory. 🙂

8. Meet More New People

Although I have met people in 2012 way more than I ever have during the previous years, I plan on establishing more connections and relationships this year, as well as improving my social skills and be less, well, awkward at times.

9. Travel More

Whether it’s just within or out of the country, I would very much like to see more of the world. No specific destinations in mind, although a trip to the States to visit my relatives again or a European tour to see historical sights sounds really good right now.

10. Go to a Halloween Party

I have gone trick-or-treating and a few small Halloween get-togethers with my cousins when I was kid, but believe it or not, I have never been to a legit costume-required Halloween party in my seventeen years of existence. Maybe this year, I’ll finally make an effort to put together a good costume (I suck at putting together costumes for myself even though I’m decent at coming up with ideas) and get out of the house during the semester break to go to a Halloween party with some friends.

11. Try a Semi-Extreme Sport

Nothing too dangerously extreme, really. What I have in mind, as of now, are cliff-diving, long forest or beach ziplines, and legit bungee-jumping (not those *sissy* ones in malls and amusement parks).

12. Plan Something For My Parents’ Anniversary

This October, my parents will be celebrating their 30th wedding anniversary and I wanna do something special for them, like get them a  probably expensive but great gift or plan a surprise party with my siblings and relatives. I still don’t have an exact idea of what I want to do, but hey, I’ve got at least eight or nine months to work on it.

13. Figure Some Important Stuff Out 

Back in high school, I used to be one of those few kids who thought that they’ve totally figured and planned out their entire future ahead. Well, you know what they say about not believing those kids because sooner or later, they’ll realize they don’t know what they’re talking about? Yeah, that’s somewhat true actually. Although I still have a clear idea or two about how I want my future to be and I know that I’m right where I’m supposed to be, I have become a lot more —  hmm, shall we say — realistic after my first seven months in college, and because of that, I’m currently re-figuring out what my goals are for the future ahead, which isn’t easy as it used to be in high school. But then again, my life hasn’t been as easy and chill as it used to be, although weirdly enough, I  realized that I’ve been somehow happier and contented lately than I was before. But like I said, I’m still figuring it all out and I’m having fun while doing so, well, at least most of the time.

So before I end this somewhat long overdue post, I would just like to greet everyone a belated Happy New Year! Also, that I apologize for not having been able to post anything for almost six months now. I know I promised last year that I’ll try to update my blog more often, but oh well… I tried. This year, I’m not gonna promise that again, but since to update my blog more often kinda falls under numbers 1 and 4 in the list, well… let’s just wait and see, shall we?

Here’s to a brightly successful and awesome year ahead!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

